JIM PASSARD — Bandleader, Featured Singer, Rhythm Guitar
Jim's tasteful and versatile guitar playing fronts The Lost Cats, while his smooth voice captures your ear and refuses to let it go!
Born and raised in the San Francisco Bay Area, Jim’s music tours have taken him from Alaska through the Pacific Northwest and back home to California. His inviting style has endeared him to club owners and patrons for many years. Audiences appreciate his wide range of material and the quality of his performance. His eclectic repertoire, performed with masterful fluidity, includes songs with the jazzy elegance of Michael Franks, the Latin classics of Antonio Carlos Jobim, and the great American standards of Cole Porter and Johnny Mercer.

BOB BRUMBELOE — Jazz Guitar
Bob's playing demonstrates an impeccable command of the guitar, seasoned with taste and a playful sense of musical humor. He has played every major venue in the San Francisco Bay area, including Yoshi’s, Kimball’s East, and The Bach Dancing and Dynamite Society. He has performed with internationally known jazz recording artists including Bud Shank, James Moody and John Handy. He’s well known and much appreciated for his ability to provide solid and interesting backup for singers. When he’s not performing or composing, Bob’s busy teaching. He has worked as an educator with Jazz Education Friends, a non-profit organization that presents jazz to disadvantaged young children and teens. He has been a guest instructor at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music and the San Francisco University High School. He was an instructor at the Yamaha music school and continues to give private lessons.

KAREN HORNER — Bass
Karen is a versatile a performer, equally at home playing jazz, popular or classical music. Currently a core member of the Berkeley Symphony, she has held principal positions in many San Francisco Bay Area orchestras including Berkeley, Rohnert Park, and the Women’s Philharmonic whose bass section she led for 20 years. She has played nationally and internationally, performing at such outstanding venues as the Kennedy Center, Davies Symphony Hall, Yoshi’s, and the Copacabana in Brazil. She has played with many other outstanding musicians including John Handy, Jessica Williams, and Mimi Fox. She holds a Masters degree in performance and has continued to develop her musicianship through post-graduate study. She is a respected teacher having taught improvisation at Wellesley College and the University of Wisconsin, Madison. Currently she teaches instrumental music in the Hayward Public School system as well as privately at her residence in Berkeley.

TOM WILLIAMSON — Trumpet
Tom started playing trumpet when he was ten years old. By the time he was fifteen he'd also taken up guitar and formed a six-piece rock 'n' roll band, playing gigs in his hometown of Oakland and throughout the East Bay. He studied music in the jazz program at the University of Miami and at the Dick Grove School of Music in Los Angeles. In 1975 he relocated, first to Victoria, British Columbia, and then to Vancouver, BC, where he formed and led a five-piece jazz band that recorded and played in venues throughout Western Canada. Since returning to California in 1982, he's played and recorded with a variety of groups and talented artists. Equally at home with jazz, pop or rock, Tom enjoys playing in all sized ensembles from big bands to small combos and in styles ranging from jazz to pop. His favorite, though, is the spontaneity and musical freedom he finds playing in a small jazz group such as The Lost Cats.

BILL BELASCO — Drums

Bill has been playing drums since the age of three. He started his professional career at the age of fifteen playing with a brass-rock band. Bill then played with various show and dance bands until coming to the Bay Area in 1975. Soon after arriving in San Francisco, he got a steady gig at the nite-club “Ivan Alexander’s” with a band called Jumpstreet featuring Joahym Young. In 1980, Bill joined the Pickle Family Circus (later the New Pickle Circus), where he learned show drumming, and toured the United States as well as Europe and Japan. He has recently worked as a drummer with “Speedy Garfin and the Garfin Gathering” in the Catskills in New York. Bill has recorded with the “Jules Rowell Quintet” and the “Dave Miller Trio”. He also plays with “Majestic Swing,” “Waldo Carter,” “Patrick Maier,” “Jules Broussard” and “Grant Ewall” bands.

THE BAND — Contact The Lost Cats
The Lost Cats can perform as an intimate duo or as a combination that may include jazz guitar, bass, percussion, brass and woodwinds, to create the right sized ensemble for any occasion. The band's regular venues include The New Zealander (Alameda), Shelby’s (Orinda), Joe’s (Lafayette) and Rafters (San Rafael). The band's diverse other venues include The San Francisco Orchid Society Evening Gala, Deloche Vinyards (Napa), Two-day Town Music Festival (Livermore) Union Street Fair (San Francisco), Armando's (Martinez).
The Lost Cats' music is as suitable for listening enjoyment as it is for dancing. The band is available for bookings at supper clubs, night clubs, private/corporate parties, weddings, festivals and any occasion that calls for spirited jazz with tasteful vocals.
Please contact Jim Passard to book the band:
Phone: 415·550·0490
Click to eMail Jim Passard: jim@thelostcats.com

Click to download The Lost Cats Press packet.
The press packet is a PDF suitable for viewing or printing. It includes photographs and information about some of the great musicians who play with the band.

Click to download The Lost Cats poster for your show.
The poster is a legal-size Microsoft Word document with type-in entries for the location, date and time of your event.

 

Many fine musicians play with The Lost Cats. At various times the band features the following great players. Click to contact them:

 


JAZZ GUITAR

Mark Babin
marc.marc@sbcglobal.net

Bob Brumbeloe
bobbrumbeloe@gmail.com

Mimi Fox
http://www.mimifoxjazzguitar.com

Ron Galen
rongalen@gmail.com

Chris Grampp
cwgrampp@pacbell.net

Rob Lyons
dharmawork@yahoo.com

Jeff Massanari
http://www.jeffmassanari.com

Jeff McNish
jmcnish@earthlink.net

Gary Zellerbach
garyzel@pacbell.net

Dave Bell
dave@bellboyrecording.com


HORNS

Jim Broadstreet / Trumpet
jimbstreet@aol.com

Doug Cross / Tenor sax
djcross@pacbell.net

Steve Deutsch / Flute, tenor and soprano sax
http://stevedeutschmusic.com
steved@mcn.org

Michael Moss / Tenor and soprano sax
mmmoss@hotmail.com

Aaron Phillips / Flute, tenor sax
aaronphillips@berkeley.edu

Harvey Robb / Tenor sax
harvbop@sbcglobal.net

Bill Sharp / Trumpet
sharp-b@clearwire.net


Tom Williamson / Trumpet
williamsont@hdcco.com

Bob Kenmotsu, horns
rodoken@gmail.com

VIOLIN

Paul Ellis
paul_ellis@sbcglobal.net

Calvin Keaoola
keaoola@aol.com

Betsy Maudlin
http://www.barefootnellies.com


JAZZ BASS


Pierre Archain
basSpierresf@comcast.net

Aron Cohn
Phone: 415-336-6243

Adam Gay
argbass1@hotmail.com

Karen Horner
karenehorner@gmail.com

Jeff McNish
jmcnish@earthlink.net

Chris Reece
reece88@alamedanet.net

Steven Strauss
http://www.ukebox.com

Leslie Thorne
lathorne@mac.com

John Zalabak
jzalabak@comcast.net

Sam Bevan
sambevan@sambevan.com

Oscar Westesson
breadbaron@gmail.com

Gary Rosen
garyrosen@comcast.net

Reid Whatley
reid@reidwhatley.com

Ted Burik
ted.burik@facebook.com

JAZZ DRUMS

Omar Aran
Phone: 415-760-7415

Bill Belasco
billbelasco4u@sbcglobal.net

Tim Carter
retract27@hotmail.com

Ted Connell
tedc@muzak.com

Orion Edmonson
orion_orion99@yahoo.com

Paul Eiden
paulhaircut@aol.com

Fred Johnson
derfee@yahoo.com

Doug Kassel
doug_kassel@hotmail.com

Ken Owen
http://www.kenowenondrums.com
kowen98@yahoo.com

Joe Paulino
joe@4joe.com

Denis Schmidt
schmidt510@comcast.net

Reid Whatley
reid@reidwhatley.com